Restriction of Hazardous Substances Directive(RoHS)was adopted in February 2003 by the European Union. The RoHS directive took effect on 1 July 2006, and is required to be enforced and become law in each member state. This directive restricts the use of six hazardous materials in the manufacture of various types of electronic and electrical equipment.
RoHS is often referred to as the lead-free directive, but it restricts the use of the following six substances:
● Lead (Pb)
● Mercury (Hg)
● Cadmium (Cd)
● Hexavalent chromium (Cr6+)
● Polybrominated biphenyls (PBB)
● Polybrominated diphenyl ether (PBDE)
The directive applies to equipment as defined by a section of the WEEE directive. The following numeric categories apply:
● Large household appliances
● Small household appliances
● IT & Telecommunications equipment (although infrastructure equipment is exempt in some countries)
● Consumer equipment.
● Lighting equipment—including light bulbs
● Electronic and electrical tools
● Toys, leisure, and sports equipment
● Medical devices (exemption removed in July, 2011)