The IDEA (International Design Excellence Awards) was established in 1980, previously co-sponsored by BusinessWeek magazine, and in 2010 Fast Company magazine and the Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA). According to the IDSA, IDEA "is dedicated to fostering business and public understanding of the importance of industrial design excellence to the quality of life and economy".
IDEA is open to designs and designers worldwide annually. Generally designs or products was produced and sold in the past two years, which can be participated in this prestigious competition. IDEA now include 〝Industry Segments〞and 〝Design Segments〞,a total of 23 categories covering the automotive and transportation, commercial and industrial products, medical and scientific products, home furnishings, service design, and many other areas. Under each category is divided Gold, Silver, Bronze awards and Finalists. The judging criteria are:
1. Innovation
2. Benefit to the user
3. Responsibility:Benefit to society, environment, culture and economy
4. Benefit to the client
5. Visual appeal and appropriate aesthetics
6. Design Research Category Insights (usability, emotional factors, unmet needs) testing rigor and reliability
7. Design Strategy Category (internal factors and methods, strategic value and implementation)
■ 2014 Awarded Products